TAKING CHRISTMAS BOOKINGS NOW!
Fitzbillies is open seven days a week for cooked breakfast, coffee, lunch and afternoon tea and of course Chelsea buns and cakes, to eat in or take away.
Fitzbillies was founded in 1921 (or possibly 1922) by Ernest and Arthur Mason, using their ‘demob’ money from the First World War. Their initials are still visible in worn-out gold letters on the shop front. They were the sons of local baker ‘Ticker’ Mason, who had a shop further up Trumpington St, where the newsagents is now. He was a bread maker. They specialised in fancy cakes and of course, Chelsea Buns!
Fitzbillies has been a part of Cambridge life since it opened, serving delicious goodies to the city's population. It has changed hands over the years and is currently owned by husband and wife team Tim Hayward and Alison Wright.
Fitzbillies has grown over the years and is lots of different things under one roof - a cake shop, a coffee bar, a restaurant and a private events space. And we are proud to say we have expanded and are continuing the Fitzbillies legacy at our new branch on Bridge Street!
We are proud to say we make as much as we can from scratch, daily, on site, at our Trumpington Street branch. Our Chelsea buns are made to the same recipe that was used by the original bakers back in 1922!
We serve a wide range of food other than cakes! Our cooked breakfast selection is becoming a staple amongst the students of Cambridge and our lunch menu has something for everyone's taste buds!
For those after a quick bite we also have a stunning range of sandwiches and light bites, including our savoury tart and soup, made using fresh, in season ingredients every day.
But for those of you after a Chelsea bun fix, we of course offer tea and barista made coffee to go with it!